"Our main goal is to have more fun, see more places and climb more mountains together."

Matty & Clare


Bikepacking adventurers, who aren't afraid of a bit of bad weather

Where are you from? We are both from York, North Yorkshire, UK.

What got you into cycling? (Matty) I've ridden all kinds of bikes since I was a child but mainly BMX and touring bikes. I love the freedom, independence and the worldwide community that comes with all forms of cycling. (Clare) Cycling for me is the best way to explore the beautiful National Parks that are on our doorstep in Yorkshire. It is cheap, fun and good for the soul.

Year of birth: Matty 1990, Clare 1988

What’s your day job, and how do you balance that with riding? (Matty) I work for myself as a photographer, cycle courier and hat stitcher. Clare is an Art Lecturer and Writer. On our days off we head up to the North York Moors National Park and explore the bridleways and gravel roads up there and try to fit in some wild camping. We also try to get up to Scotland or somewhere further afield to go bikepacking with friends.

What has been your favourite event / place to ride and why? That's a tough one. I think we both really enjoyed Spain as it took us a little off guard and felt like a big holiday. Tasmania though has to be the best best place we've ridden, especially the west coast as it felt so remote and wild. Riding along beaches and the massive trees of the Tarkine will stay with us for the rest of our lives!Apart from that the Pannier trips are always a good laugh with like minded souls. 

What BT-modell do you mainly represent? (Matty) I ride the Beyond+ ADV and a regular Beyond which has been all around the World with me. (Clare) I ride the Beyond+ 1.

Any goals / visions for the future? Our maingoal is to have more fun, see more places and climb more mountains together.

IG account: @getwildmatty @thetouringartist